2012 Grants Awarded

The Chilkat Valley Community Foundation, an Affiliate of The Alaska Community Foundation, is pleased to announce the 2012 grant recipients. Nine organizations were awarded grants totaling more than $11,000.

CVCF Grantees List Picture (2012)

The Chilkat Valley Community Foundation’s Grantmaking Committee was comprised of Board members Heather Shade, Chip Lende, Mary Jane Valentine, Crystal Badgley, Lew Lowry, Cecily Stern, Leslie Evenden and Ann Myren, and community members Ramona Holmes, Phyllis Sage, and Kate Saunders. The Committee members used CVCF’s structured review process and read, scored, discussed and prioritized the applications.

Funding for these diverse projects came from revenues available from the Chilkat Valley Community Foundation’s endowed fund: $7,243, CVCF’s Memorial Fund; $820, The Call Family Fund; $326, and Rasmuson Foundation’s re-grant funds of $2,500.

In addition, Kingfisher Consulting, LLC sponsored a $600 Mini-Tech Grant. This grant opportunity was open to projects that incorporated technology. The Mini-Tech Grant funds were awarded to the Haines High School Systems Engineering class for an electronic LED signboard, powered by renewable energy, that will announce school and community events that take place at the school. The system will also provide an indoor display that will provide information on how much power is being generated by the solar and wind systems the class installed.

CVCF’s vision is to enable joyful givers to realize community dreams. The Chilkat Valley Community Foundation is solely focused on the needs of the Chilkat Valley. The all-volunteer local CVCF Advisory Board works to secure donor gifts for charitable purposes in the areas that will improve the quality of life for all our residents. Gifts build a permanent endowment which maximizes donor gifts and improves the welfare of our community today while leaving a legacy for future generations.